Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers – Spoiler Free Review

Review Banner (1)

Title: Assassin’s Heart
Author: 
Sarah Ahiers
Series Name: Assassin’s Heart
Genre: YA Fantasy
Publication Date: Feb 2nd, 2016
Pages: 448 (eBook)
Publishers: HarlequinTeen
Rating:
4 and a half stars

Review Titles (2)

With shades of Game of Thrones and Romeo and Juliet, this richly imagined fantasy from debut author Sarah Ahiers is a tale of love, lies, and vengeance. Fans of Kristin Cashore and Rae Carson will devour the flawlessly crafted action and inventive world building.

Seventeen-year-old Lea Saldana is a trained assassin. She was born into one of the nine clipper Families in the kingdom of Lovero who lawfully take lives for a price. As a member of the highest-ranking clan, loyalty to Family is valued above all, but that doesn’t stop Lea from getting into a secret relationship with Val Da Via, a boy from a rival clan. Despite her better judgment, Lea has fallen in love with him; but she’s confident she can anticipate any threat a mile away.

Then she awakens one night to a house full of smoke. Although she narrowly escapes, she isn’t able to save her Family as their home is consumed by flames. With horror, she realizes that Val and his Family are the only ones who could be responsible. Devastated over his betrayal and the loss of her clan, there’s just one thing on her mind: making the Da Vias pay. The heart of this assassin craves revenge.

21421609

Review Titles (1)

I love the simplicity of this cover but also how well it fits the book. The single coin in the middle which I’m assuming has the Saldana Family sign on it and the city street the bottom. It’s a simple but beautiful cover and I wish I owned a physical copy of this book purely for the cover.

Review Titles (3)

Extremely enjoyed the writing of this book! I didn’t know what to expect as this is the Authors debut novel but I was very pleased with what I found in this book. The writing flowed well and was very descriptive. The writing was also easy to follow and I didn’t find myself confused at any points. The world building was well done and everything was explained really well! The idea of this book and the world was fairly unique from anything I have read in the past and it was very enjoyable.

Also, the romance was not bad. I’m not a romance reader, I say this in every review I write but the romance in this book wasn’t that bad. It didn’t overtake the plot at any point, it just kinda worked in with everything. I can say that I saw it a mile away before the MC even had any idea and it was a tad insta-lovey.

Review Titles (4)

I really enjoyed the plot of this book, like I said in the writing section, the world is very unique and the same can be said for the plot. I also really enjoyed the many twists towards the end of the book. I may have found the romance a bit predictable but for the rest of the story that was definitely not the case!

Review Titles (6)

I really enjoyed our main character, Lea. She was loyal and determined and I really enjoyed her. She was a great badass female character. I loved the sarcastic attitude that popped up occasionally too!

I also really liked Les too. He was a really interesting character, he was thoughtful, caring and also had a bit of a sarcastic attitude which I loved. He was also a bit of a badass too.

Val, I was iffy about from the start of the book. I don’t know what it was but he just gave me this off feeling right from the beginning.

There aren’t too many characters I can talk about without giving away spoilers so I think I will leave it at that!



HAVE YOU READ THIS BOOK? WHAT ARE YOUR THOUGHTS ON IT?!
IF YOU ARE GOING TO SHARE SPOILERS IN THE COMMENTS THEN PLEASE WARN IT SO OTHERS DON’T GET SPOILED!

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 8.49.20 pm

FACEBOOK    /    TWITTER    /    PERSONAL TWITTER    /    PINTEREST    /    INSTAGRAM  /    PERSONAL INSTAGRAM    /    GOODREADS    /    PHOTGRAPHY TUMBLR   /    LITSY: DUSKANGELREADS

10 thoughts on “Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers – Spoiler Free Review

  1. I rarely see books with a female assassin as a protagonist (well, perhaps I have never given them a chance before), but the cover here is stunning! I know this might sound unethical to some extent, but the cover might make me try this one 😛

    And I have recently nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award! I know that you have done this award before, but I think you are a great nomination! I hope you don’t mind being nominated by me 🙂
    https://wonderfulwords101blog.wordpress.com/2017/09/17/the-blogger-recognition-award/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There is Nevernight by Jay Kristoff that has a female assassin protagonist. However I did not enjoy that book at all really. The only thing I enjoyed was the Shadow Cat.
      And it’s 100% okay to buy a book because of the cover!

      And thanks I received the tag!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I like the cover too but I don’t see its connection to the book in the slightest. Which I hate. Covers need to represent the story some how and it really doesn’t.
        And so i this one but it’s only a Duology. But it’s not a normal sequel. It’s actually a companion following a different character like 17 years later or something. At the end of this book she was only a baby, and in this one she turns 18.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh? That’s regrettable…it’s like publishers are making use the psychological attraction towards good covers that they are using the great arts as bait 😦 .

        It’s a duology? That’s good news! I’ll ask around and see if it’s any good before deciding to try it. Your views on the book earlier are much appreciated, too! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.