Categories
Discussion Friday

I want to start a bookish Facebook group with monthly reads!

Copy of Review Banner (4)

Okay, so this will be a totally random post!

As many of you know I am Australian! I also love joining bookish groups and joining in on the BOTM ReadALongs! However, all the bookish groups I am in seem to be based in either the UK or US and they base their ideas of the seasons and holidays that UK and the US have! Being in Australia we are in the opposite seasons to them atm! We are in Spring atm and ALL the bookish groups I’m in right now are holding ‘Fall’ & ‘Halloween related events or have them coming up in the next month or so. Which is fine, but it just doesn’t fit what is going on around me here in Aus! For one thing, people in Australia barely celebrate Halloween. I know in recent years people have been trying to make it a thing in Aus but it’s just not really happening…. And as for all these ‘fall’ themed reads, I’m kinda sick of it… (Also, we call it Autumn)

I will still be apart of the groups I am currently in but I was considering making a group that is based from Aus. Anyone worldwide would be able to join but I just want something a little closer to home when it comes to themes and challenges!

For the BOTM we would vote on a book that has been released in the last 12 months. I know a lot of groups focus on new releases or older releases (older than 1 year). So I figured I would be in between those two!

Please let me know if you would be interested in joining a group like that!!



Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 8.49.20 pm

FACEBOOK    /    TWITTER    /    PERSONAL TWITTER    /    PINTEREST    /    INSTAGRAM  /    PERSONAL INSTAGRAM    /    GOODREADS    /    PHOTOGRAPHY TUMBLR   /    LITSY: DUSKANGELREADS
Categories
Reviews

Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers – Spoiler Free Review

Review Banner (1)

Title: Assassin’s Heart
Author: 
Sarah Ahiers
Series Name: Assassin’s Heart
Genre: YA Fantasy
Publication Date: Feb 2nd, 2016
Pages: 448 (eBook)
Publishers: HarlequinTeen
Rating:
4 and a half stars

Review Titles (2)

With shades of Game of Thrones and Romeo and Juliet, this richly imagined fantasy from debut author Sarah Ahiers is a tale of love, lies, and vengeance. Fans of Kristin Cashore and Rae Carson will devour the flawlessly crafted action and inventive world building.

Seventeen-year-old Lea Saldana is a trained assassin. She was born into one of the nine clipper Families in the kingdom of Lovero who lawfully take lives for a price. As a member of the highest-ranking clan, loyalty to Family is valued above all, but that doesn’t stop Lea from getting into a secret relationship with Val Da Via, a boy from a rival clan. Despite her better judgment, Lea has fallen in love with him; but she’s confident she can anticipate any threat a mile away.

Then she awakens one night to a house full of smoke. Although she narrowly escapes, she isn’t able to save her Family as their home is consumed by flames. With horror, she realizes that Val and his Family are the only ones who could be responsible. Devastated over his betrayal and the loss of her clan, there’s just one thing on her mind: making the Da Vias pay. The heart of this assassin craves revenge.

21421609

Review Titles (1)

I love the simplicity of this cover but also how well it fits the book. The single coin in the middle which I’m assuming has the Saldana Family sign on it and the city street the bottom. It’s a simple but beautiful cover and I wish I owned a physical copy of this book purely for the cover.

Review Titles (3)

Extremely enjoyed the writing of this book! I didn’t know what to expect as this is the Authors debut novel but I was very pleased with what I found in this book. The writing flowed well and was very descriptive. The writing was also easy to follow and I didn’t find myself confused at any points. The world building was well done and everything was explained really well! The idea of this book and the world was fairly unique from anything I have read in the past and it was very enjoyable.

Also, the romance was not bad. I’m not a romance reader, I say this in every review I write but the romance in this book wasn’t that bad. It didn’t overtake the plot at any point, it just kinda worked in with everything. I can say that I saw it a mile away before the MC even had any idea and it was a tad insta-lovey.

Review Titles (4)

I really enjoyed the plot of this book, like I said in the writing section, the world is very unique and the same can be said for the plot. I also really enjoyed the many twists towards the end of the book. I may have found the romance a bit predictable but for the rest of the story that was definitely not the case!

Review Titles (6)

I really enjoyed our main character, Lea. She was loyal and determined and I really enjoyed her. She was a great badass female character. I loved the sarcastic attitude that popped up occasionally too!

I also really liked Les too. He was a really interesting character, he was thoughtful, caring and also had a bit of a sarcastic attitude which I loved. He was also a bit of a badass too.

Val, I was iffy about from the start of the book. I don’t know what it was but he just gave me this off feeling right from the beginning.

There aren’t too many characters I can talk about without giving away spoilers so I think I will leave it at that!



HAVE YOU READ THIS BOOK? WHAT ARE YOUR THOUGHTS ON IT?!
IF YOU ARE GOING TO SHARE SPOILERS IN THE COMMENTS THEN PLEASE WARN IT SO OTHERS DON’T GET SPOILED!

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 8.49.20 pm

FACEBOOK    /    TWITTER    /    PERSONAL TWITTER    /    PINTEREST    /    INSTAGRAM  /    PERSONAL INSTAGRAM    /    GOODREADS    /    PHOTGRAPHY TUMBLR   /    LITSY: DUSKANGELREADS
Categories
Meme

Top 5 Wednesday – Books to Read without the Synopsis

Copy of Review Banner (3)

This Meme is hosted by Thoughts On Tomes and the prompts can be found on Goodreads.

So here is my Top 5 Wednesday. I’m not 100% sure if I will be able to think of 5 for this as I don’t really read many book synopsis before reading so I don’t think I will actually have 5 but here we go!

Prompt: Books to Read without the Synopsis
–We all know that some synopsis writers spoil events that happen halfway through the book or have heard reviewers say “it’s best to go into this one blind.” Discuss those books.



Review Titles (9) 2

1. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

bo0b-square-1536 (1)

The synopsis of this book literally gives away the main plot of the book!

2. The Gentlemen’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

51fGaSdWOLL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

You are better off going into this book knowing very little! This book is full of craziness and adventure and it’s definitely worth jumping into blind! It’s a hilarious, diverse and adventurous historical fiction! What more do you need to know?

3. Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody

30237061 (1)

This one I did not read the synopsis for before reading but I have since and I honestly think it could have been left at those first two paragraphs of the synopsis. The third is not necessary. But also I don’t think this synopsis is really needed at all! Seriously, just go into this book knowing nothing and it will amaze you all on its own.



Well, that is all, I didn’t think I would get to 5 and I was right. I just don’t read synopsis’s too often and when I do it’s usually months before I read the book and by then I have forgotten.

Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 8.49.20 pm

FACEBOOK    /    TWITTER    /    PERSONAL TWITTER    /    PINTEREST    /    INSTAGRAM  /    PERSONAL INSTAGRAM    /    GOODREADS    /    PHOTGRAPHY TUMBLR   /    LITSY: DUSKANGELREADS